

Department of Chemistry Kolthoff Lectureship in Chemistry

February 18-21, 2013 Professor Mary Wirth Purdue University

Website:

http://www.chem.purdue.edu/people/faculty/faculty. asp?itemID=87

Faculty Host: Philippe Buhlmann

Mary J. Wirth is the W. Brooks Fortune Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University. She is a native of Joliet, IL. She received her bachelor's degree in 1974 from Northern Illinois University, where she did undergraduate research under the direction of Alfred A. Schilt. She earned her doctorate in 1978 from Purdue University,



working under the direction of Fred E. Lytle.

She was on the chemistry faculties at the Universities of Wisconsin-Madison, Delaware, and Arizona, and she also spent two years working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

Wirth's interests span the fields of bioanalytical chemistry and materials science. Her research has been recognized by national awards that include the ACS Analytical Division Award in Spectrochemical Analysis, the EAS Gold Medal Award in spectroscopy, the ANACHEM Award, and the EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry. She is a Fellow of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy and a Fellow of AAAS. She is a founding member of the Advisory Board for COACh, which provides workshops for women all around the world who aspire to academic careers in science and engineering.

Lecture 1:

Protein Separations Using Colloidal Silica: Nanoscale Phenomena

3:45 p.m. Monday, February 18 **100 Smith Hall**

A reception for Professor Wirth will be conducted in 117/119 Smith Hall immediately following this lecture. All are welcome to attend.

One of the most important challenges in analytical chemistry today is to increase the resolution and speed of protein separations. The need is driven by the growing use of biotechnology in the pharmaceutical industry, the opportunities in understanding disease processes through proteomics, and the dearth of protein biomarkers for cancer diagnostics. These three lectures detail what happens to resolution and speed in protein separations when homogenous materials with nanoscale interstitial dimensions are used.

This first lecture probes the nanoscale phenomena that arise when monodisperse colloidal silica is used as a building block for chromatographic and electrophoretic media. The phenomena include formation of colloidal crystals, the restricted accessibility of proteins to the interstitial volume, and the onset of slip flow. Manifestations of these phenomena are presented and discussed in the context of opportunities in speed and resolution of protein chromatography and electrophoresis.

Izaak Maurits Kolthoff was born on February 11, 1894, in Almelo, Holland. He died on March 4, 1993, in St. Paul, Minnesota. In 1911, he entered the University of Utrecht, Holland. He published his first paper on acid titrations in 1915. On the basis

of his world-renowned reputation, he was invited to join the faculty of the University of Minnesota's Department of Chemistry in 1927. By the time of his retirement from the University in 1962, he had published approximately 800 papers. He continued to publish approximately 150 more papers until his health failed. His research, covering approximately a dozen areas of chemistry, was recognized by many medals and memberships in learned societies throughout the world, including the National Academy of Sciences and the Nichols Medal of the American Chemical Society. Best known to the general public is his work on synthetic rubber. During World War II, the government established a comprehensive research program at major industrial companies and several universities, including Minnesota. Kolthoff quickly assembled a large research group and made major contributions to the program. Many of Kolthoff's graduate students went on to successful careers in industry and academic life and, in turn, trained many more. In 1982, it was estimated that approximately 1,100 Ph.D. holders could trace their scientific roots to Kolthoff. In 1983, he received the American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry inaugural Award for Excellence in Teaching.

