Gold University of Minnesota M. Skip to main content.University of Minnesota. Home page.
News & Events
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Program
Course Offerings


News and Events

Three chemistry faculty recieved named Chemistry Department Professorships.


Congratulations to professors Thomas Hoye, Chrisopher Cramer, and Jaili Gao, the newest recipients of named Chemistry Department Professorships. These Professorships acknowledge the contributions of our most distinguished faculty.

On January 1, 2010, Professor Tom Hoye will begin a five-year term as Merck Professor of Chemistry
On January 1, 2010, Professor Chris Cramer will begin a five-year term as the Elmore H. Northey Professor of Chemistry.
On July 1, 2010, Professor Jiali Gao is the recipient of the L.I. Smith Professorship.

The Merck, Northey, and Smith Professorships are funded through generous gift endowments to the Chemistry Department and matching funds from Permanent University Fund resources.



The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.