University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Lodge elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Regents Professor Timothy P. Lodge has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The Academy of Arts and Sciences honors remarkable men and women who have made preeminent contributions to their fields and the world. Members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs. He will be inducted into the Academy at a ceremony, Saturday, October 8, 2016, in Cambridge, MA.

Lodge, who holds appointments in both the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials science, is one of the University's most distinguished professors, which includes being named a Regents Professor in 2013.

He earned his bachelor's degree in applied mathematics from Harvard College, and his doctorate in chemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He was a National Research Council post-doctoral research associate at the National Bureau of Standards, and joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota in 1982. He joined the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science (CEMS) in 1995, and became director of the National Science Foundation-funded Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) in 2005.

He has received many accolades for his research and teaching, including some of the top honors at the University of Minnesota such as the Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education Award (2012), College of Science & Engineering Distinguished Professorship (2004), and Distinguished McKnight University Professorship (2001).

Lodge is one of the most productive, innovative, and influential polymer scientists in the world, focusing his research on the structure and dynamics of polymeric systems. He has published more than 350 papers on his innovative and groundbreaking research.

His contributions to the scientific community have been recognized by external awards and invited lectureships, including the Minnesota Award-American Chemical Society Minnesota Section (2012), Turner Alfrey Visiting Professorship (2011), and International Scientist Award from the Society of Polymer Science Japan (2009). Lodge was recognized as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2010) and the Association for the Advancement of Science (2009). He has been awarded two of the most prestigious international awards in the demanding fields of both polymer physics and polymer chemistry—the American Physical Society Polymer Physics Prize (2004) and the American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Chemistry (2009). Few scientists in the world have claimed both of these prizes.

Lodge was recently named a 2016 Fellow of the Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA), honored for the creative use of SANS to achieve groundbreaking insights into the structure and dynamics of a wide range of complex polymer systems, in particular, multi-block copolymers in the bulk and in selective solvents. He received 2015 Herman F. Mark Polymer Chemistry Award from the Polymer Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), honored for his outstanding research and leadership in polymer science.

Lodge has served in many leadership roles for the Department of Chemistry and the College of Science & Engineering, including as director of MRSEC and leading one of its interdisciplinary research groups focused on polymer research, and coordinating the Microstructured Polymers group for the university’s Industrial Partnership for Research in Interfacial and Materials Engineering (IPRIME). As Editor-in-Chief of Macromolecules, he oversees the processing of 3,000 manuscripts annually, and coordinates the efforts of 13 associate editors. He also launched ACS Macro Letters. He has chaired and organized many meetings and national conferences, and has served as a leader on the executive committee for the American Physical Society Polymer Division.

“We are extremely proud of Tim, who is richly deserving of this honor,” said William Tolman, chair of the Department of Chemistry. “His research record is simply extraordinary, as is his exceptional service as an editor and as MRSEC director. He has made a major mark in the fields of polymer/analytical chemistry that will certainly be longstanding.” 

Lodge is one of only five Department of Chemistry faculty members to receive this honor. Other Fellows include Regents Professor Donald G. Truhlar, who was elected to the Academy in 2015, and the late Bryce Crawford Jr., Paul Gassman, and Izaak Kolthoff.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 “to cultivate every art and science, which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” The AAAS carries on this tradition through studies, publications, and formal and informal meetings. Its studies help set the direction of research and analysis in science and technology policy, global security, social policy, and the humanities.

Read the College of Science & Engineering's news release.