University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


16 graduate students participate in commencement, April 29

Sixteen Department of Chemistry graduate students are participating in the Arts, Sciences, and Engineering Graduate Commencement Ceremony, which is schedule for 2 p.m. to 4 p.m Friday, April 29, at Mariucci Arena. There will be reception for graduates and their parents from noon to 1 p.m. in 401 Walter Library.

Students receiving their Master of Science degrees include Angel David Cortes-Morales (Professor Ilja Siepmann, adviser); Veronica Diaz-Rodriguez (Professor Mark Distefano, adviser); Daniel Henry Dodge (Professor C. Daniel Frisbie, adviser); Drew E. Koballa (Professor Laura Gagliardi, adviser); Makenzie Rae Provorse (Professor Jiali Gao, adviser); Suqin Tan (Professor Christopher Macosko, adviser); and Nicholas B. Teodori (Professor Lawrence Que Jr., adviser).

Students receiving their Doctor of Philosophy include Zhifeng Bai (Professor Timothy Lodge, adviser); Shencheng Ge (Associate Professor Christy Haynes, adviser); Bryce James Marquis (Haynes, adviser);  Lei Shi (Professor Gianluigi Veglia, adviser); Scott Nelson Thorgaard (Professor Philippe Buhlmann, adviser); Mari Elizabeth Titcombe (Professor Peter McMurry, adviser); Yaohua Wang (Professor Edgar Arriaga, adviser); Michael Theodore Wentzel (Assistant Professor Christopher Douglas, adviser); and Brandon J. Winters (Professor Jeffrey Roberts, adviser).

Margaret Anderson Kelliher, former speaker of the Minnesota House of Representatives and current president and chief executive officer of the Minnesota High Tech Association, will give the keynote address at the commencement ceremony.

Participating colleges in the commencement include the College of Biological Sciences, the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Science & Engineering, and the Medical School basic science departments.