University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Lodge receives Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, & Professional Education Award

Professor Timothy Lodge has received the 2011-12 Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education Award. He is one of eight professors from throughout the entire university system to receive this award.

This prestigious award recognizes faculty members for excellence in instruction; instructional program development; intellectual distinction; advising and mentoring; and involvement of students in research, scholarship, and professional development.

"Tim's contributions to the education of graduate students and postdoctorals has been simply outstanding, and the results speak for themselves: those whom he has mentored are working at the forefront of scientific research and education throughout the world," said William Tolman, chair of the Department of Chemistry.

Lodge is one of the Department of Chemistry's most distinguished professors and researchers. His accolades include being named a University of Minnesota Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science; being chosen for the 2012 Minnesota Award of the Minnesota Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS); receiving the prestigious Award in Polymer Science from the ACS; being named a Fellow of the ACS in 2010; receiving the International Scientist Award from the Society of Polymer Science Japan in 2009; and being named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2009.

Lodge is director of the University of Minnesota's Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, which supports interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary materials research and education. He is editor of the ACS journal Macromolecules, and the recently launched ACS Macro Letters.

Lodge will be honored at an award ceremony, Monday, April 23, at the McNamara Center.

The Department of Chemistry now has six professors who have been honored with the Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education Award. In addition to Lodge, they include Peter Carr, Christopher Cramer, Thomas Hoye, Larry Que, and Ilja Siepmann.