University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Graduate student commencement, Friday, April 27

Fourteen Department of Chemistry graduate students participated in the Arts, Sciences, and Engineering Graduate Commencement Ceremony, Friday, April 27. They were honored at a Department of Chemistry reception beforehand.

Master of Science

David Hanna
Professor Mark Distefano, adviser

Doctor of Philosophy

Kyle Christine Bantz
Professor Christy L. Haynes, adviser   
Thesis: Development of a Surface-Enhanced Raman Sensor for Detection in Complex Mixtures

Li Chen
Professor Philippe Buhlmann, adviser

Aalo Gupta
Professor William Tolman, adviser

Jun Sung Kang
Professor T. Andrew Taton, adviser
Thesis: I. Solid-Phase Polymerase Chain Reaction on Gold Nanoparticle Supports. II. α-Azido Ether Reduction: A Bioorthogonal, Chemical Trigger for Degradable Materials

Kelly Kyro
Professor Mark Distefano, adviser
Doctorate in Chemical Biology
Thesis: Photoaffinity Labeling and Characterization of Protein Targets Using Prenylated Benzophenone-Containing Peptides

Yu-Shen Lin
Professor Christy L. Haynes, adviser

Sara A. Love
Professor Christy L. Haynes, adviser
Thesis: Assessing Toxicity: Studies with Carbon-Fiber Microelectrode Amperometry & Noble Metal Nanoparticles

Elizabeth C. Lugert-Thom
Professor Philippe Buhlmann, adviser
Thesis: Application of Fluorous Polymer Matrixes in Ion-Selective Electrodes

Eric Olson
Professor Philippe Buhlmann, adviser
Thesis: Development of a Voltammetry-Based Sensor Platform for Field Detection of Explosives Containing Trinitrotoluene

Hajime Seki
Professor Gunda I. Georg, adviser
Thesis: Cyclic Enaminones: Methodology Development, Total Synthesis, and Library Construction

Bo Wang
Professor Donald G. Truhlar, adviser
Thesis: Development of New Computational Algorithms and Their Applications in the Study of Zeolites

Tao Yu
Professor Donald Truhlar, adviser
Thesis: Multi-Path and Multi-structure Variational Transition State Theory and Applications to Hydrogen Transfer Reactions

Pictured, from left, are Sara Love, Kyle Bantz, Kelly Kyro, Eric Olson, Li Chen, David Hanna, Elizabeth Lugert-Thom, Hajime Seki, Yu-Shen Lin, and Tao Yu.