University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


2012 Graduate Student Research Symposium honors

Pictured, front row, from left, Judge Kristi Fjare, Ph.D., Professor Michelle Driessen, symposium winners Sijie Luo, Maria Miranda and Stephen Rudisill, and Professors Christy Haynes and Philippe Buhlmann. Second row, from left, judges Darrel Untereker, Ph.D., and Martin Rigney, Ph.D., Professor Andreas Stein, symposium winner Brian Woods, and Professors Lee Penn, Theresa Reineke and John Ellis.

Four third-year Department of Chemistry graduate students took top presentation honors at this year's 11th annual Graduate Student Research Symposium. This year's "Beaker and Bunsen" award winners are Sijie Luo, Maria Miranda, Stephen Rudisill, and Brian Woods. Each received a $600 travel grant.

Twenty-eight third-year graduate students participated in the 11th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium, which was conducted, Tuesday, May 22. This year's participants included Jennifer Bigelow, David W. Boyce, Junhua Chen, Verónica Díaz-Rodríguez, Allison L. Dzubak, Stephanie R. Harstad, Theodore “Ryan” Knutson, Run Li, Sijie Luo, Amanda Maxwell, Marie O. Miranda, Charuta C. Palsuledesai, Katie L. Peterson, Makenzie Provorse, Chandrasekhar Ramasubramanian, Gregory Rohde, Paul “Alex” Rudd, Stephen G. Rudisill, Kairat Sabyrov, Masoud Samet, Alireza Shokri, Zahra Sohrabpour, Stephen Tereniak, Yingjie Wang, Susith Wickramaratne, Stuart G. Winikoff, Brian P. Woods, and Xu U. Zou.

This year's distinguished judges included Jeffrey J. Cernohous, Ph.D., chief technical officer, chairman, and founder of Interfacial Solutions; Kristi A. Fjare, Ph.D., program coordinator, Phillips 66 Biofuels Group in Research and Development; Martin P. Rigney, Ph.D., research & development vice president, Global Industrial Sector, Ecolab, Inc.; and Darrel Untereker, Ph.D., vice president of research, Medtronic. Faculty judges were professors Philippe Buhlmann, Michelle Driessen, John Ellis, Christy Haynes, Lee Penn, Theresa Reineke, Andreas Stein, and Andrew Taton.

This year's 12th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium Committee members were Professors Christopher Douglas and Laura Gagliardi, Communications Coordinator Eileen Harvala, and Assistant to the Chair Christine Lundby. Technology support was provided by Webmaster Eric Schulz and Information Technology Professional Mike Casey.