University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Professor Hillmyer receives Creative Polymer Chemistry Award

Professor Marc Hillmyer has received the prestigious 2011 Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award from the American Chemical Society, Division of Polymer Chemistry, Inc.

This award recognizes accomplishments and innovations of unusual merit in the field of basic or applied polymer science by individuals younger than 45.

Hillmyer teaches polymer, materials, organic, physical, and environmental chemistry for the Department of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota. His research interests encompass the design, synthesis, and applications of functional polymeric materials, particularly polymers made from renewable resources, and the use of block polymers to prepare nanoporous materials for applications in water purification, advanced lithography, and solar energy conversion.

Hillmyer is director of the Department of Chemistry's Center for Sustainable Polymers (CSP), which integrates science, technology, and public policy initiatives and research aimed at reducing dependence on petrochemicals for the creation of plastics. CSP focuses on designing, preparing, and implementing polymers derived from renewable resources for a wide range of advanced applications, and on promoting future economic development, energy efficiency, and environmental sustainability in the emergent area of bio-based products.

He is also the microstructured polymers program leader for the Industrial Partnership for Research Interfacial and Materials Engineering (IPRIME) at the University. IPRIME creates opportunities for industry professionals to collaborate with University students and researchers.

Hillmyer received his bachelor's degree from the University of Florida, and he earned his doctorate from the California Institute of Technology. Before joining the Department of Chemistry faculty, he was a post-doctoral research associate at the University of Minnesota in chemical engineering and materials science.

Earlier this year, Hillmyer received a 2010 Distinguished McKnight Professorship for his work on nanostructured polymers for the environment. His previous honors include receiving a Packard Fellowship, a National Science Foundation Career Award, a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Arthur Doolittle Award from the American Chemical Society, a McKnight Land-Grant Professorship, the George Taylor Career Development Award, and the George Taylor Research Award. He also has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.