University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Lu receives Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship

Connie Lu, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, has been awarded a prestigious Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship for 2013. Lu was among 126 winners of this highly competitive award intended to enhance the careers of exceptional young faculty, including two other honorees from the University of Minnesota.

Sloan Fellowship winners are faculty members at 59 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada who are conducting pioneering research in physics, chemistry, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, mathematics, and neuroscience. Each winner receives a grant of $50,000 for a two-year period.

Sloan Research Fellows are free to pursue whatever lines of inquiry are of most interest to them, and they are permitted to employ fellowship funds in a variety of ways to further their research aims.

"I am thrilled about this award," said Lu. "Having recognition from the Sloan is a wonderful thing, and I'm really proud of my students for their hard work."

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grant making institution based in New York City. Established in 1934 by Alfred Pritchard Sloan Jr., then-president and chief executive officer of the General Motors Corporation, the Foundation makes grants in support of original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and economic performance.

The other University of Minnesota recipients are Hoai Minh Nguyen and Pavlo Pylyavskyy, assistant professors in the School of Mathematics.

For additional information, see Sloan Fellowship winners.