University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to chemistry home page.


Department forms Chemistry External Advisory Committee

The Department of Chemistry held the inaugural meeting of its Chemistry External Advisory Board (CEAB), Monday, June 1. This group will help the department pursue strategies aimed at enhancing the vitality and effectiveness of its teaching, research, service, and outreach activities.

Members of the CEAB are leading scientists from a variety of industries, and many are University of Minnesota and Department of Chemistry alumni. Board members include Timothy Abraham, Ph.D., from Cargill Inc.; John Banovetz, Ph.D., 3M; Arthur Coury, Ph.D., biomedical consultant; Robert DeMaster, Ph.D., Suntava Corporation (retired from 3M); Paul Guehler, Ph.D., retired from 3M; Karl Haider, Ph.D., Bayer MaterialScience LLC; Gregory Kubala, Ph.D., Schlumberger Pressure Pumping and Chemistry; Daniel LeCloux, Ph.D., DuPont Microcircuit Materials; Youg Li, Ph.D., Eastman Chemical Company; Scott Person, Ph.D., Coca-Cola Company; Martin Rigney, Ph.D., Ecolab; Florian Schattenmann, Ph.D., Dow Chemical Company; Steve Vanderboom, Pace Analytical Services Inc.; Janet Zuffa, Ph.D., Masonite Corporation. Schattenmann serves as the CEAB chair.

The CEAB will advise the department on academic, program, and strategic issues; assist in the promotion and recognition of the department; and provide philanthropic support and assistance in seeking public and private financial support. The CEAB will meet twice a year.

“We are very pleased with the commitment to our efforts from these very busy and successful people, and I look forward to working with them over the coming years,” said Professor William Tolman, department chair.